You are here: Home / Race Days / Taranaki RC - 15 February 2014 / Taranaki RC 15 February 2014 - R 4 (instigating a protest)

Taranaki RC 15 February 2014 - R 4 (instigating a protest)

Created on 17 February 2014

NMcCutcheon (chair)
Mr S Ritchie - Trainer of MAGIC MOMENT
Mr J Parkes - Rider of MACKLEMORE
Information Number:
Horse Name:
Persons present:
Mr J Wheeler - Trainer of MACKLEMORE
Mr R O'Neill - Representing connections of MAGIC MOMENT
Mr D Walker - Rider of MAGIC MOMENT
Mr R Neal - Co-Chief Stipendiary Steward

Following the running of Race 4, Phoenix Park Two Year Old Classic an information was filed instigating a protest pursuant to Rule 642(1). The informant, Mr Parkes, alleged interference in the home straight, alleging that Magic Moment placed third by the Judge, interfered with his mount Macklemore placed fourth by the Judge.

The Judge’s placings were as follows:

1st No.3 Artic Wolf
2nd No.7 Duey
3rd No.5 Magic Moment
4th No.4 Macklemore
5th No.6 Aspery

The margin between third and fourth was a half head.

Rule 642(1) reads:

If a placed horse or its rider causes interference within the meaning of this Rule 642(1) to another placed horse and the Judicial Committee is of the opinion that the horse so interfered with would have finished ahead of the first mentioned horse had such interference not occurred, they may place the first mentioned horse immediately after the horse interfered with.

Submissions For Decision:

Mr Parkes the rider of Macklemore said that at the top of the straight there was a gap for him and that when he went for it, the gap was gradually tightened by the outside horse Magic Moment and that he could not ride his mount out fully. He said that he is an aggressive rider with the whip, but was unable to use it. He added that when he dismounted he said to the trainer (Mr Wheeler) that he thought that his horse could have won the race.

Mr Parkes then interpreted the run on all available films and said that he was able to keep pushing, but could not ride his mount out fully and that his horse was not 100% confident to keep going, due to the tightness of the gap, when the outside horse took his line by a fraction.

Mr Wheeler the trainer of Macklemore said that his horse had had only one previous race day start, had not had any trials, was reluctant to take the gap and that everything else had been said by Mr Parkes.

Mr Walker the rider of Magic Moment said that Mr Parkes had tried to take a tight gap, that his horse kept a straight line, that the gap did not close, and that Macklemore was reluctant to take the gap. He added that the margin between third and fourth was a bit deceiving, as he had to stop riding due to pressure from his outside short of the line, which probably cost his mount half a neck.

Mr O’Neill representing the connections of Magic Moment, said that he considered his horse had hardly moved at all, that Macklemore was a bit reluctant to come through the gap as it was tight. He added that both horses had had a fair run in the race and that the protest should be dismissed.

Mr Neal said that at the top of the straight a gap did eventuate for Mr Parkes' mount. He said that it was probably true that Macklemore was reluctant to take the gap and added that when Macklemore got to the hindquarters of Magic Moment, Mr Parkes was compelled to take a hold, albeit for a short distance, as the run closed for a few strides. Mr Neal said that there was some merit in the protest.

Reasons For Decision:

After giving due consideration to all the submissions and revisiting all available films the committee reached the following finding.

That early in the run home the gap on the inside of Magic Moment tightened, and at the time of the tightening Macklemore who had been trailing Magic Moment was about to improve into the gap adjacent to the running rail, but due to the tightening the horse appeared reluctant to improve and lost some momentum. When the gap did open to a significant degree, Macklemore finished well for fourth placing (being beaten a half head for third placing).

The committee after considering the entire run of the two horses over the final 300m (approximately), was not satisfied that the incident that had occurred was sufficient to warrant a change of placings.


Due to the committee’s determination the protest was dismissed, with dividends and prize money to be paid on the judge’s placings.

Document Actions