You are here: Home / Race Days / Timaru HRC - 6 October 2019 / Timaru HRC 6 October 2019 - R 10 (instigating a protest) - Chair, Mr D Anderson

Timaru HRC 6 October 2019 - R 10 (instigating a protest) - Chair, Mr D Anderson

Created on 10 October 2019

Committee:
DAnderson (chair)
OJarvis
Respondent(s):
Ms S Ottley - Driver of JAMIES BAD BOY
Informant:
Mr S Mulcay - Stipendiary Steward
Information Number:
A12853
Horse Name:
JAMIES BAD BOY
Persons present:
Mr N Ydgren - Chief Stipendiary Steward
Mrs C Tibbs - Stipendiary Steward
Evidence:

Following the running of race 10, the Next Meeting Sunday 24 November Mobile Pace, an information instigating a protest was filed by Stipendiary Steward Mr S Mulcay, against JAMIES BAD BOY (S Ottley), placed 5th by the judge, on the grounds that it “galloped in excess of 50 metres in the final 200 metres”.

Ms Ottley had endorsed on the information form and signed “I do not contest the protest”.

Rule 870(3) provides: that any horse which breaks from its gait during a race must promptly return to its correct gait.

Section B of the Breaking Horses Regulations provides: that any horse which breaks in the last 200 metres of a race and continues in a break for a distance of 50 metres or greater shall be in breach of Rule 870(3).

Submissions For Decision:

Mr Mulcay with the assistance of Mr Ydgren showed the race video replay of the final 200 metres of the race.

Mr Mulcay identified JAMIES BAD BOY leading the field in the middle of the track passing the 150-metre mark. He pointed to the horse shortly after pace roughly and then gallop, free of interference, and continue on in a gallop for approximately 80 metres before regaining its gait just short of the post, finishing in fifth place. Mr Mulcay sought disqualification of JAMIES BAD BOY.

Reasons For Decision:

The Committee was satisfied that JAMIES BAD BOY had broken from its gait, free of interference, for approximately 80 metres within the last 200 metres, being placed 5TH across the line and therefore in breach of Rule 870 (3) and the Breaking Horse Regulation.

Decision:

The protest was upheld and JAMIES BAD BOY was disqualified from the race.

Consequent upon the disqualification, the amended result promoted (2) THAT’S BETTER from 6th placing to 5th.

It was ordered that the dividends and stakes be paid in accordance with the amended result.

Document Actions